盛势达的 80年历程

成长为独特的跨国公司

起源

最初的盛势达可追溯到1932年成立的日本金田兄弟商会,其经营的业务主要是自行车橡皮胶的生产和销售。当时橡皮胶是被注入金属管状容器之中,公司将这种制造工艺发扬光大,于1946年发明了管状牙膏,并引入市场,而那时流行的还是牙膏粉。这就是“盛势达牙膏”的前身,后来发展为公司的核心业务。 随着该业务的不断壮大,部门发展为口腔部和健康美容部,侧重于口腔健康及全身健康。人们早晚要刷牙,根据这一点,他们将早晨的“Sun(太阳)”和夜晚的“Star(星星)”组合成“SUNSTAR”,公司名便由此而来。

与此同时,自行车的橡皮胶业务逐步发展为化工业务,其经营产品为汽车生产及建筑业所用的合成粘接剂、密封胶、而自行车的配件业务则发展为摩托车业务,经营链轮和刹车盘等盘类零件。

盛势达在之后的发展里向四大领域进军:口腔&身体,健康&美丽,化工&摩托。盛势达也整合四大领域各自研发的科技,创造新的业务。

30年代

1932-1959

盛势达初期

起初,盛势达自主创业,雄心勃勃。1932年,我们的创始人在自行车配件业务上做出创造性改变,让整个行业彻底改革:因补胎所需,橡胶粘接剂采用便携式金属管装。很快,我们成为市场领跑者。1954年,我们开始生产齿轮曲柄,自行车业务的重心便开始扩大。

1946年,我们将盛势达牙膏装入管形容器,让整个口腔护理行业彻底改革。公司之所以取名为Sunstar, 就是为提醒人们呵护口腔:“早上日出时,夜晚星光下,请您刷牙。”盛势达牙膏的市场份额逐年增长,1949年仅为6%,而1954年已达38%。

1956年,管装无刷剃须膏改变人们的剃须理念,一举成功。

1932年:发明了自行车补胎所用的橡胶粘接剂。

1954年:开始生产自行车的齿轮曲柄。

1956年:引进无刷剃须膏。

1946年:第一款管装盛势达牙膏问世。

返回顶页

60年代

1960-1969

盛势达进军新领域与组成国际联盟

由于不断创新,盛势达在口腔护理领域占据了领导地位。我们成为日本牙刷制造商的主导公司之一,也开始进军其他消费者商品市场,尤其是清洁剂、剃须产品和口香糖。

我们和美国一家大型护发品公司成立合资企业,于1966年推出了VO5发胶,向国际业务迈进。

1967年,我们与一家美国化工公司创立了合资企业——盛势达 Essex化工公司,生产摩托车玻璃和房屋建筑所需的密封剂。

随着自行车链齿轮业务的不断扩张、成功经营,我们也扩大了自身视野,摩托车链齿轮的工艺也日益精进。

1968年:盛势达又引入了一个行业新品:含盐牙膏。

1966年:VO5发胶问世。

1961年:摩托车链齿轮业务再创佳绩。

1969年:Betaseal 169建筑密封剂上市销售。

返回顶页

70年代

1970-1979

盛势达的发展历程

这是具有里程碑意义的十年。汽车密封胶的需求上涨,盛势达占据了最大的市场份额。

我们坚持在口腔护理领域创新,引入清洁、防蛀、含叶绿素成分的牙膏。我们和海外公司建立新的联盟,以加强自身在化妆品行业的战略。1876年,盛势达凭借VO5领先护发品行业。盛势达Tonic洗发香波的首次推出,在理发行业创造了新的商机。

1972年,盛势达和Lark箱包公司携手,进入箱包行业。当时,两轮车市场迅速壮大,我们将核心业务定为高性能、高质量的摩托车链齿轮及配件。1976年我们接了哈利·戴维森公司的一大笔订单,声誉大增,业绩丰厚。

1972年:新的绿色盛势达产品带来清新之风。

1976年:推出Demute牙膏。

1970年:Sunstar TONIC 洗发露问世。

1972年:推出Lark箱包。

1978年:开始大规模生产摩托车刹车盘。

返回顶页

80年代

1980–1989

盛势达的全球化发展

在20世纪80年代,盛势达建立了世界专家网,将发展策略的核心定位全球思维。我们在美国和泰国为摩托车配件、粘接剂、密封胶建立了生产和销售部门。

我们收购了以高端牙刷科技著称的John O. Butler公司,由于其公司在瑞典和加拿大已有运营部门,我们借助其全球网络,使得业务显著增长。1989年G・U・M品牌问世,我们进一步完善自身定位,力求成为预防、抵制牙周疾病的全球领导企业。

本着全面促进身心健康的生活理念,我们在1983年推出维生素补充剂,进入健康食品市场。在1985年成立了KENKODOJO整体健康中心,并在1988年推出了KENKODOJO自然美食饮品品牌。

1980年:为建筑业引入Betawall功能底涂料。

1988年:根据KENKODOJO整体健康中心的理念,KENKODOJO产品上市销售。

1989年:GUM牙周呵护系列产品问世。

80年代:汽车粘接剂制造向全球化发展。

返回顶页

90年代

1990–1999

盛势达向亚洲扩张业务与实施环境管理

盛势达在世界上率先引入口腔内抗生素治疗,以抵御牙周疾病。1990年公司向日本引入Periocline,加强了自己的产品线。1998年,可吸收并消除牙斑的Ora2在日本问世。

90年代,护发品VO5和滋补水品牌销量大增,业绩持续增长。1992年,我们在德国法兰克福市附近创立了Sunstar Deutschland GmbH。在东南亚地区,新加坡则成为我们的制造控制中心。

1995年,我们成立了Sunstar Engineering Indonesia,开始生产摩托车配件。90年代末期,我们在中国广州设立了制造销售点。

我们认为环保是一个重要问题,并响应了当时的不少倡议,比如1993年的Dry Mark's Dry Up清洁剂倡议。1998年的EcoCart环保包装倡议。

1990年:抵御牙周炎的PERIOCLINE问世。

1998年:清除牙斑的Ora2牙膏问世。

90年代:VO5发梢分叉护理产品系列获得巨大成功。

90年代:半导体底部填充垫取得成功。

1998年:EcoCart密封胶环保包装问世。

1993年:Dry Up衣物清洁剂问世。

返回顶页

00年代

2000-2009

为了进一步的成长和发展
在瑞士成立全球总部

2000年,日本所有的生产据点都取得了环境管理的国际标准ISO 14001的认证。一直以来致力于SunStar的环保措施,与2003年的“环保CAN”的开发结成一体。

2002年,开发电动辅助装置。

健康&美容领域,2005年发售高质量的护肤系列“EQUITANCE”,口腔护理领域,于2008年开发了癌症患者用口腔护理“BUTLER SG”。

另外,继欧洲、北美之后,努力在南美成立销售据点,2004年扩大到墨西哥,2007年扩大到阿根廷,2008年扩大到哥伦比亚。

2009年,在瑞士沃州埃托瓦完成了总部大楼。

亚洲作为两轮车用零件的生产据点,于2009年开设了新加坡工厂,开始给泰国、印度尼西亚、美国等工厂供应。

2003年:环保型包装容器EcoCan开始投入使用。

2002年:自行车电动辅助系统研发成功。

2005年:EQUITANCE Beaute Holistique问世。

2008年:针对黏膜溃烂的BUTLER SG系列问世。

2009年: 口腔修复系列GUIDOR Matrix Barrier于美国问世。

返回顶页

如今

2010年——至今

迈向世界各地的SUNSTAR
全球化事业投资

2011年,本公司收购了德国Interbros股份有限公司,并扩大了在欧洲地区的生产能力;同时,我们也收购了瑞士Degradable Solutions 股份公司,并获得了该公司持有的生物体吸收性牙科材料方面的优越技术,以此扩展了Guidor品牌的销售区域。

2012年,本公司在印度尼西亚建立了两轮机动车零件第二工厂,2013年在新加坡工厂内设立了研发中心,以充分发挥集团协同效应,推动产品开发。

此外,我们从2012年开始在欧洲的电视台投播GUM产品广告,并从2013年起在美国的部分地区播放。 2014年,我们在德国的“健康道场”、美国的“EQUITANCE”开辟了产品邮购途径,在巴西开设了办事处,从而启动了口腔护理产品的销售等,并计划将品牌渗透到世界各地。

2015年,我们在瑞士埃托瓦建成了第二总部大楼,同年又在美洲投建了新工厂基地。

2012: G U M电视广告在意大利投播。

2014: “健康道场”在德国推出。

2015: 位于瑞士埃托瓦的新总部大楼。

image342016年:北美總部和製造工廠

返回顶页

Sunstar's 80Year
Journey

Growing into a unique global company

The Origin

The origin of Sunstar dates back to 1932 when Kaneda Keitei Shokai was founded and began manufacturing and selling of rubber glue for bicycles. By applying the manufacturing technology used in pouring rubber glue into metal-tube containers, the company developed and introduced toothpaste in tube containers in 1946, when mainstream dentifrices were still in powder form. This was the first “Sunstar toothpaste” and later formed the company’s core business.
This business grew and led to the Oral Care and Health & Beauty businesses with an emphasis on the promotion of oral and whole body health. The company name “Sunstar” was derived from the idea of brushing teeth in the morning as the Sun comes out and again at night under the stars.

Meanwhile, the business of rubber glue and parts for bicycles developed into the Chemical business -synthetic adhesive agents and sealants for automobile production and construction application- and the motorcycle business -disc parts such as sprockets and brake.

Sunstar continues to promote the further development of businesses in four fields; Oral Care, Health & Beauty, Chemical and Motorcycle. Sunstar also creates new businesses by integrating and combining technologies fostered through our four business sectors.

'30s

1932–1959

Sunstar's early years

Sunstar's journey begins with an entrepreneurial spirit and an ambitious dream. In 1932, our founder enters the bicycle parts business with a creative innovation that revolutionizes the industry: rubber cement in a portable metal tube for tire repairs on the go! Quickly we become the market leader. Our focus on bicycles expands in 1954 when we start to produce gear cranks.

In 1946, we transform the oral care industry with Sunstar Toothpaste in a tube. The Sunstar name is created as an important oral care reminder: "Brush your teeth with the sun in the morning and with the stars at night." From 6% in 1949 to 38% in 1954, the market share of Sunstar Toothpaste continues to grow.

In 1956, Brushless Shaving Cream in a tube innovates shaving and becomes an immediate success.

1932: Rubber cement for bicycle tire tubes is developed.

1954: Production of gear cranks for bicycles begins.

1956: Brushless Shaving Cream is introduced.

1946: The first tube of Sunstar Toothpaste debuts.

Page Top

'60s

1960-1969

Sunstar enters new business areas & forms global affiliations

As a result of continuous innovation, Sunstar claims leadership in oral care. We become one of Japan's leading toothbrush manufacturers and enter other consumer goods markets – particularly detergents, shaving products, and chewing gum.

Pursuing an international business plan, we establish a joint venture with a major U.S. hair care company and launch VO5 Hair Spray in 1966.

In 1967, we establish Sunstar Essex Chemical Company as a joint venture with a U.S. chemical company to produce sealants for automobile windows and building construction.

With success and expansion in our bicycle sprockets business, we broaden our horizons and excel in motorcycle sprockets.

1968: Sunstar introduces another first: Salt Toothpaste.

1966: VO5 Hair Spray launches.

1961: Motorcycle sprockets create a new success.

1969: Betaseal 169 construction sealant goes on sale.

Page Top

'70s

1970–1979

Sunstar experiences rapid growth

During a milestone decade, the demand for automotive sealants grows and Sunstar gains top market share.

We continue to innovate in the oral care category with clear, anti-cavity and chlorophyll-based toothpastes. We strengthen our cosmetics strategy by forging new affiliations with overseas firms. By 1976, Sunstar leads the hair care sector with VO5. We open new opportunities in the barber business with the debut of Sunstar Tonic Shampoo.

In 1972, Sunstar enters the luggage business with Lark Luggage Company. Against a backdrop of rapid growth in the two-wheeled vehicle market, we focus on high-performance, high-quality motorcycle sprockets and parts as a core business. In 1976, our reputation and success surge with a major order from Harley-Davidson.

1972: New Green Sunstar refreshes breath.

1976: Demute toothpaste is launched.

1970: Sunstar Tonic Shampoo debuts.

1972: Lark luggage is launched.

1978: Mass production of motorcycle brake disks begins.

Page Top

'80s

1980–1989

Sunstar expands globally

During the 1980s, Sunstar builds a worldwide network of experts with global thinking at the heart of our growth strategy. We set up production and sales facilities for motorcycle parts, adhesives and sealants in the United States and in Thailand.

With the acquisition of the John O. Butler Company – respected for its pioneering toothbrush technology – we experience dramatic growth through its global network, which includes existing operations in Sweden and Canada. With the launch of the G・U・M brand in 1989, we further define our role as a global leader in fighting and preventing periodontal disease.

Building on a healthy lifestyle philosophy of holistic mind and body wellness, we enter the health food market with vitamin supplements in 1983, open the KENKODOJO Holistic Health Center in 1985, and launch KENKODOJO Natural Foods & Beverages in 1988.

1980: Betawall functional paint for construction is introduced.

1988: Based on ideas of Sunstar's Holistic Health Center, KENKODOJO products go on sale.

1989: The GUM line of products for periodontal care is launched.

1980s: Automotive adhesives manufacturing expands for global production.

Page Top

'90s

1990–1999

Sunstar expands business in Asia & implements environmental management

With the introduction of Periocline in 1990 in Japan, Sunstar strengthens its portfolio in the fight against periodontal disease with the world's first antibiotic treatment for within the oral cavity. Developed to absorb and remove dental plaque, Ora² was launched in 1998 in Japan.

The 1990s mark growth and continuing success in hair care with the VO5 and Tonic brands. In 1992, we open Sunstar Deutschland GmbH near Frankfurt, Germany. Singapore becomes our manufacturing control center for Southeast Asia.

In 1995, we establish Sunstar Engineering Indonesia to produce motorcycle components. We open manufacturing and sales operations in Guangzhou, China in the late 1990s.

We recognize environmental conservation as a major issue and implement ongoing initiatives such as Dry Mark's Dry Up detergent in 1993 and the EcoCart cartridge in 1998.

1990: PERIOCLINE for periodontitis is launched.

1998: Ora² Toothpaste for plaque removal is released.

1990s: VO5 Split End Hair Care product line becomes a huge success.

1990s: Underfill mat for semi-conductors gains sucess.

1998: EcoCart cartridge for sealants is released.

1993: Dry Up clothing detergent is launched.

Page Top

'00s

2000-2009

Towards further growth and development
Establishment of the Global Headquarters in Switzerland

In 2000, the ISO 14001 certification, which is the international standard for environmental management, was granted to all of our manufacturing sites in Japan. Sunstar’s environmentally-friendly initiatives led to the development of the “Eco CAN”.

In 2002, the electric motor assist unit was created, and the premium quality skin care range “EQUITANCE” was launched.

2008 was the year in which “Butler SG” oral care products for mucosal erosion were developed.

Following Europe and North America, new sales offices were established in Mexico (2004), Argentina (2007), and Colombia (2008).

In 2009, the first Headquarters building was completed in Etoy, Switzerland. In Asia, a factory was built in Singapore as a production base for motorcycle parts to supply our factories in Thailand, Indonesia, and the United States.

2003: Eco-friendly EcoCan container is implemented.

2002: An electric power assistance system for bicycles is developed.

2005: EQUITANCE Beauté Holistique is launched.

2008: BUTLER SG series for mucosal erosion is launched.

2009: GUIDOR Matrix Barrier for oral rehabilitation is launched in the U.S.

Page Top

Now

2010- Present

Progressing to a Global Sunstar
Global business investments

In 2011, Sunstar acquired Interbros GmbH in Germany to increase its production capacity in Europe. At the same time, Sunstar also acquired Degradable Solutions AG in Switzerland, specialist in superior quality bio-absorbable dental materials, in order to expand the “GUIDOR” brand.

In 2012, Sunstar built a second factory for motorcycle parts in Indonesia, and in 2013 we established a development center in the Singapore factory to create products by leveraging group synergy.

Television advertising of G · U · M began in Europe in 2012 and in some areas of the United States in 2013.

In 2014, seeking global brand penetration, the sales of “KENKODOJO” were initiated in Germany, as well as those of “EQUITANCE” in the United States, and a sales office was opened in Brazil.

2015 saw the completion of the second Headquarters building in Etoy, and a new plant was constructed in the United States as a base for the Americas.

2012: G・U・M TV advertisement in Italy.

2014: KENKODOJO launched in Germany.

2015: New Headquarters building in Etoy, Switzerland.

Page Top